Knowledgebase
Digest Settings

OverviewEdit section

Digests are used to allow end users to easily view a list of emails that have been quarantined.

User DigestEdit section

The digest allows users to take the following actions when viewing a quarantined email:

Release onceEdit section

Allows user to release a specific email from a sender one time. This may be an email newsletter that they do not want to receive regularly or an email from a source that you feel may be a legitimate source. The release function does not update the Proofpoint Essentials spam-learning engine and does not create any rules in relation to the sender.

Release alwaysEdit section

Allows the user to have the desired message released immediately and inform Proofpoint Essentials to create an Allow filter between the sender and recipient so that mail will not be qualified as Spam from this sender in future.

To view digest settingsEdit section

Click on the Company Settings tab
Click on the Digests tab
The digest options can be adjusted to suit each customer. These options can be applied to users directly. To manage a user's spam threshold, go to Managing Users & Groups > Configuration Options for Users and Groups.

Options for digestsEdit section

Receive quarantine digestEdit section

Specifies if a summary report is generated or not. In addition, if setting under a specific user or functional account, an additional setting is available to enable to send a digest to an alternate email account in the same domain.

Send quarantine digest only if there are new messagesEdit section

Specifies that the Quarantine digest will only be delivered when new messages have been quarantined since the last time the report was run.

Interval between quarantine digest checksEdit section

Specifies the frequency of the quarantine digest delivery. The default value is set to 24 hours but there are options for 12 hours, 8 hours, 6 hours and 4 hours. The quarantine digest is sent out at 3:00 AM local time (depending on the time zone configuration of the company) and at other times throughout the day depending on the interval selected.

Retention periodEdit section

Defines the period of time that messages are retained in quarantine.

Update quarantine digest settingsEdit section

If the “Update Quarantine Digest settings for all existing user accounts” checkbox is checked, the company quarantine digest settings will replace any end-user settings that have been defined.  Proofpoint Essentials allows you to manage these settings at the user level. Please go to "Managing Users & Groups" > "Configuration Options for Users and Groups" to learn more about how to make changes.

Receive quarantine digestsEdit section

Specifies if a summary report is generated or not.

Functional AccountsEdit section

Functional accounts, as a distribution list, can receive a digest.

AccessibilityEdit section

A functional account has no interface log-in. There is no password associated to a functional account. Only organizational admins (or higher) can administrate functional account settings.

DigestEdit section

Set to YesEdit section

A digest can be sent to the functional account, however by default it would go to the entire group. So if one person attempts to release a message, it would do so for the entire functional account, hence the entire group will receive the message.

Set to NoEdit section

No one on the functional account will receive a digest

Set to Yes - Send to ...Edit section

This setting is recommended if you want a sole admin on the functional account. This person can dictate everything fro the group. However, accessibility to settings is still a function to the org-admin (or higher). The administrator for the functional account will have digest only actions.

 

(11 vote(s))
This article was helpful
This article was not helpful